Brass

Fellow parents, let's be frank. Sometimes going to see your children taking part in performances is a mixed joy. I can remember when my daughters were learning ballet, one would be impressed, perhaps, by the older students and - speaking for myself, at least - take great joy in watching the unintentionally anarchic dances by the very little ones but the middle ground could be a bit dull.

And so to tonight's brass band concert. Much as I was looking forward to seeing Dan and Abi playing, again, I was worried that an hour of amateur brass might be a bit much. However, it turned out that only the first half was the "Mini-Band" and the rest was a brass quintet. (Although, in fact, the Mini-Band were very entertaining.)

I really enjoyed the quintet. There is a subtlety to a brass ensemble that I'm only just beginning to appreciate. High points included "Just a closer walk with thee" and a beautiful interpretation of "She moved through the fair", which has become one of my favourite songs to sing. Listening to the gorgeous, aching brass harmonies was lovely. To be honest, if there had been a glass of wine to hand, I'd have happily spent the evening there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.