Tree of Life

There was an article in the paper this morning that said, Exercise key, even among frail. OilMan and I both feel that we qualify for the frail part today. He has a stiff neck and sat around listening to the baseball game and doing his puzzle.

I didn't sleep very well last night (due to bad dreams about OilMan and his stiff neck), got up and went to a Pilates class, came home, and went to the nursery with Dana where we bought flowers for a couple of huge pots in our patio.

It is a wonderful little nursery which specializes in flowers, especially unusual color combinations of flowers in pots. They have a big sign on their greenhouse facing the entrance which says, TODAY IS A GOOD DAY! It's a delightful place to visit.

We came home and while Dana planted the flowers, (beautifully, of course) I did battle with the euphorbias I cut down yesterday. Today's task was pulling them out by the roots--made more difficult because it was hot in the sun.

After Dana went home "to take care of my family" Pam came back with the picture she made for our hallway, The Tree of Life. Her husband, Gert Matthiessen, who died suddenly last year, did the picture we have hung over our dining table. She brought his sister-in-law, who is visiting from Denmark, with her.

Pam who has boundless energy, rehung Gert's picture, hung her picture in the hall, and helped me organize all my other pictures on a big bedroom wall. Hanna, who is a floral designer toured the garden, admired everything, and, wonder of wonders, recognized some beautiful little fruit plates which once belonged to my mother, as done by HER sister-in-law!

All in all, a busy day. I think I may have staved off frailty for one more day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.