Dizzy2302

By Dizzy2302

The London Dungeon

Just time today for a quick visit to South Bank and The London Dungeon (Tim's choice), before heading home, and I have to say more than a little apprehension on my part. No photos as cameras not allowed so the London Eye seemed appropriate as we were on South Bank (no chance of getting Tim up there!!)

The Dungeon was a 90 minute journey through 1000 years of London's murky past. We walked through the dungeon in complete darkness moving from show to show guided by professional actors. The shows were based on real London history and legends (minus the boring bits!!) We got up "very" close and personal with Jack the Ripper and Sweeney Todd. We walked through Whitechapel Labyrinth of misty East London streets, plague ravaged houses, the fearsome torture chambers and saw (and felt!) what could have been if Guy Fawkes has succeeded. Visitors were selected at random (no one would volunteer that's for sure!) and I just couldn't believe that LG got selected to have all his "bits" removed by the Plague Doctor and then Tim went to gallows, noose and all. The climax to the tour was "Drop Dead: Drop Ride to Doom" and when faced with two doors you could take the ride or escape. I was sooooooo tempted to escape but I manned up and went. Strapped into seats it just dropped 30 feet without warning and more than once! But hey ho here I am (with a few more grey hairs I hasten to add) - I lived to tell the tale and incidentally Tim loved it!!! RESULT!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.