Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Edinburgh Loot

I was rocking the "deranged tramp lady" look for my last minute decision to head down to Gardening Scotland in Edinburgh today. As Grazia's style editor would say, let me walk you through the statement pieces from my wardrobe.....

- white tatty running shoes (it's a serious business, walking from stall to stall, yes I know, I'm such a brave wee soldier),
- shapeless cardigan (c'mon the lady gardeners!),
- my new cheapo black harem pants (never, ever did I think I'd see the day I'd wear MC hammeresque breeks, but for all the lady readers who share my love of scones, all you need to know is that have an elasticated waist, nuff said)
- red and white neckerchief (you know the ones, think David Essex, only worse, cringe factor 10)
spiders web motif rucksack (because I couldn't find my one so Sam's ancient one from p4 had to do)
- my mum (you must always bring yer Ma to a gardening show, not just because she subs you money - and you must always pay her back!!)
- hair off face (nothing must obstruct one's vision when slagging off the utterly pants show gardens, or indeed the tango'd be-caked make-upped lady selling gaudy scarves on the main drag, but obviously do not risk eye contact with said lady or she might lure you in to her stall and that would be bad, as the scarves will surely make you look like a drag queen)
- bit of tweed (essential)

Having perused the perenials and surveyed the stalls it was time to make like autumn and leaf. Sorry, no dad jokes allowed.

But what's this? 5 hour return drive to go to a garden show to impulse buy mauve shoes and purply bag and purplish tea leaves and I'd bought nae plants? Emergency purchase of salvias and lysomachias (spelling?!)....also in purple.

Back home to kick some more lawn mower but on the front garden grass jungle again, I think I'm now winning. Dave seemed to have survived the morning shift of Sam's sleepover having the twins over, probably because he slept all morning and left said boys to their own devices.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.