DDW Challenge: at the movies; la casa blanca y azu

I’ve had this vase since sometime in the early 1970s. I remember going to a party in a house that had Casa Pupo rugs/tapestries hanging on the walls. Too expensive for me, but this Casa Pupo vase was just the thing to go on my Habitat sideboard. I think it was about £5.00 at the time, which would make it around £70 now. Those rugs would be about £5,000 in today’s terms. Some party; some house.

Casa Pupo started in Plimlico (London) in 1960 as a partnership between an English businessman and a Spanish designer. The early designs were black on white and then blue on white and were as iconic in their day as Habitat and Conran. The company went bust in the mid-1970s - I guess as a result of changing tastes and economic recession.

For the moment it resides in our casa de verano, which being in garden, suits Anniemay as she’s not really that taken by it. Never mind, it’s better than the loft where it’s been for years until it came down for this photograph.

Each time she thinks of taking it to the charity shop I stop her and say; “you’ll regret it. Maybe not today. Maybe not tomorrow … …. we’ll always have Casa Pupo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.