Tay Ghillie

By challum

It'll be worth the wait

I waited patiently in the ID Centre looking at the pictures in some fashion magazine. It was warm and several people were walking round in fluorescent vests with clipboards looking very official. The phone rang and I was called over to the desk,

"I'm afraid you wont be able to visit the site today. Because our priority is the runways the road leading to the site has not been treated and the Transport Officer has decided it is too unsafe"

Now of course the runways are priority. Absolutely. But we need to understand that the road leading to the site is 300 yards long, flat with no other traffic. What on earth is going to happen?! The snow is only 4" deep!! For goodness sake!!!

So with a heavy heart, I thanked the Press Officer who was supposed to have taken me to the site, because to-date she has been ever so helpful and it isn't her fault and I headed home.

This picture was taken on Turnhouse Golf Course, which has remained empty for several days now.

Each night I check the Royal Caledonian Curling Club website to see if The Grand Match will go ahead. There is a good chance that next week we will see the first event for 30 years. Now imagine what a sight that would be on the big lake!

As a footnote to the above I have just added the following; And the powers that be deliver a further kick in the teeth I'm feeling quite anti Health & Safety at the moment. When I go to fill my coal up I think I'll leave my laces untied. Just because......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.