Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Museum of Memories

Since September of 1980 we've had a love affair with that island . . . Catalina.

Today we needed to drive to Tustin to get a re-fill of medicine for Bob dog from the K-9 doctor. So I put forth my best "whine" to convince Mr. Fun that we could then go on to the ocean's edge to see if just maybe the island was in view. I promised to be good for the rest of the day if he'd take me to look (well, I certainly wasn't going to promise the rest of the month, and not even the rest of the year). ;-)

So a little after 4 o'clock we walked out onto the grassy knoll above the beach at Corona del Mar and there in the distance we could see Catalina veiled in the haze of the day. As the sun inched toward the horizon, the veil faded and the silhouette became undeniable.

We took turns clicking the "point & shot" (affectionately known as the "cheapie"), and we each captured the views with our iPhones. Mr. Fun captured me on my knees trying for a good blip. So in my signature style I've collaged three of them.

In September of '80 we spent our first week on Catalina Island at family camp, and since then we've spent a week there almost every summer. Our two kids, three grandkids, and great-grandson, Tristan, have all been to camp with us. It is always a high point in our year. In 2009 we were at camp the final week of June. It all starts here and you can then click through the calendar to see our adorable Tristan. ;-)

We've created enough memories there to fill a museum. They are our best souvenirs. The first two Friday's of 2010, we've gotten to see the island!

Have a grand weekend everyone!
Good night from an unseasonally warm Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.