In The Occupied Territory

By FinHall

Money for nothing

I was going to call this, hello john got a new motor, but I have already used that title.
So Mrs Queen gets out her glad rags and joins a load of other posh , rich folk ( this isn't a dig at people's back grounds or wealth per sae or even at tradition) but surely one must see the irony of a wealthy OAP, minus the P, having to read out words that were decided upon by a bunch of privileged, Eton educated politicians, whilst being watched in the chamber by non elected scroungers. Especially when today's words were concerned with creating a fair and equal society, whilst cutting benefits, and altering the rules on pensions, and , at the same time, making it easier for big companies to begin fracking, even on private property.
Afterwards, I am sure she jumped back in her new, 4 horse power coach, which has, I have been informed, electric windows, and muttered to her old fellow, "That was money for nothing. I do hope my lady in waiting has my slippers ready for me ."

Meanwhile my dad, who would have been 84 today. He did his national service in the fifties, spent the rest of his adult life in the territorial army, then several years as an instructor in the university officer training corps. But didn't get an army pension.

Just saying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.