EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Treasures

Well the first is the vase with the last peonies of the yard, we have only one plant that came to bloom after 5 years of waiting and one time replanting. Now it's bloom is abundant.
I put the last branches in a Delft's Tulip vase , some 350 years old. One of the few things that I inherited last year after my mom passed away and it wasn't easy to ship.
It has 6 openings for one single Tulip (or other flower :-) ) each. On one side there is a little couple playing, pretty similar to the couple on the big platter which is treasure number three. Equally old and brought to the US in a board case bought extra for this purpose. The tiles are maybe 260 years old and remind me of my dad who brought them home one by one during a time when a friend of his was a "slooper", someone who broke down old houses. Whatever he did not need or like he gave to my father who loved this old Dutch "stuff". I think them interesting, beautiful and love each one of them. As they were the decorum of the houses in which I grew up, they are full of memories and very dear to me.
Definitely worth watching in large.
This picture and my collection of old things makes me sometimes wonder why I have such an affection for things that were made in a time when things were hand made and unique. There are so many for whom all this means nothing... Can't figure it out. And I have always been like that , already as a teenager.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.