Tools of the trade

I'm not into heavy gardening at the moment, and am usually to be found kneeling or sitting at the edge of the flower beds. For this reason the middles are rather overgrown! The tools of my trade are a kneeler/stool and a trowel. A bit like Trigger's broom, this trowel has had several handles in its time, beautifully turned by Normous on his lathe. Then there is a little fork, beautifully made, well balanced, it just feels right. Last but not least there's the nappy bucket! Yes, you heard right! It has this name because it originated in Venezuela where we lived when our daughter was a baby, and this is the bucket that our Venezuelan maid used to boil up the nappies. It has never lost its name, although it is a very long time since it saw any nappies. It is just the right size for collecting weeds.

I put the TV on while I was outside. First I kept popping back to see how Andy Murray was getting on (not very well) and then was distracted by the wonderful and moving programme from Normandy showing the commemorations of D-Day. Eventually gardening lost the battle and I moved indoors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.