Keith B

By keibr

Bumble bee and comfrey

A fair bit of rain in the night and the morning was heavily cloudy and looked like rain could come again at any moment. I spent the morning catching up on Blip and listening to P1, the serious Swedish radio program (think radio 4 if you're in Britain) which I think the best program by far. It was lovely to just sit and do what I wanted!
Then a bit of form filling admin and finally out in the garden as the sun started to break through.
I cut the last bit of uncut lawn (about 80 minutes) and then returned to give some of the rest a second cut (another 45 minutes). It finally seems to be close to being in control and back to normal after being away for 4 of the last 7 weeks, and being very, very busy at work the other 3 weeks.
All this exercise and 5/2 eating finally seems to be working. I feel pretty fit and the weight has gone down 3 kilos in the last 3 months, which doesn't seem much but is trending the right way!
After a shower and a G&T it was out into the garden to find a blip.
Macroing a bumble bee is not easy because despite their image as bumbly they actually move fairly fast, pausing for just one or two seconds on each flower. And you don't know which one they will choose next. Anyway, I used the professional photographer's trick learned years ago in my first job at Kodak and I fired off about 30 shots. Three of them were OK and this was perhaps the best. The bee was working hard and you can see how much pollen it had collected. I like the way the hairy bee and the hairy comfrey match, and the way the bee hangs from two flowers while sticking its head deep into a third flower. More acrobatic than bumbly!
It's been lovely to have three days at home and I have a fairly easy start tomorrow, meeting one of my colleagues in a web meeting which I can take from home, and then going into work for lunchtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.