South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Dead Flowers and Destruction!

Well, today has been interesting!

I had to run backing tracks from the clavinova this morning at church, so I was sitting right by the flower arrangement. I was pretty horrified by it as it was full of really dead roses (some were brown rather than yellow!) and dead foliage. There were some decent alstroemerias amongst the debris! I was particularly concerned because we had a joint service with the local Anglicans this evening at our church! To cut a long story short, one of the very elderly flower arranger ladies had not seemed to know that the flowers needed replacing, so I had to go to Asda this afternoon and buy some chrysanthemums to replace the dead items. I'm no flower arranger, but it did look a lot better after I'd sorted it out (as in the photo!)

Another strange happening today was that the poor bus shelter at the end of our road has again been demolished. When I went to Asda, it was still standing, when I came back a car had driven right into it. Apparently no'one was badly injured, but the car's accelerator had evidently got stuck and it had shot across the road and straight into the shelter. It's worse than when it was blown over in the storm because the wooden sides are broken to pieces now. Thank goodness no'one was sitting in it at the time - horrendous thought!

Anyway, the joint service went well this evening and a lot of people came - and the flowers looked quite nice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.