Cygnus

By Cygnus

Busman's holiday

Today I found myself in Hayes and Harlington. For ten minutes. I have no idea where I was, really, except that it was part of my journey to the Rutherford Appleton Laboratories (RAL) in Oxfordshire. While I was there a couple of trains hammered through the station so quickly and noisily they actually made me jump! Trains do not move like that in N Ireland. I guess we are so small that trains can move from one place to another fairly sedately, but you still get there in half an hour or so.

I am on a 'professional development ' course on how the Gaia space telescope can be used to improve science teaching. I'm so excited! The hotel is FAB and our first talk was by Gerry Gilmore, a Professor of Experimental Philosophy from Cambridge University - also FAB!

Tomorrow we will go to RAL for more talks by experts in the field of particle physics and space science.

Livin' the dream, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.