Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sorry, Archie

Our Kiwi visitors, Jean and John, are most impressed with Archie. He was on his best behaviour - didn’t jump up and just went and lay down under the table as we had our meal. He did get rather excited when he sat on the sofa with them, so that didn’t last too long…

He did have a little accident in the kitchen while he was helping JR prepare the meal, and he looked embarrassed about it, apparently, but I told him I wouldn’t tell his blip fans.

This morning was lovely, so Archie and I set off with our guests for a walk to the Links. Archie was most reluctant to go walkies - I don’t know what was wrong. I had to carry him for a while. I kept urging J&J to go on, we were taking too long - Archie kept sitting down. What on earth was wrong with him?

However, when we got to the grass, he watched people and kids and even had a growl at a cheeky crow that came hoping quite close. Mind you, the growl was from behind my legs…

J&J walked round Brunstfield for a wander and visited Uncle A, whom they know well over the years. Archie trotted back home as normal. Perhaps I’d woken him up too soon - we were a wee bit earlier than usual. Who knows.

My master plan was to go into town with the visitors, pop into My Club, then show them the refurbished Portrait Gallery. Archie was to have his lunch and be left outside in his play area with his crate and all his toys. This seemed like a reasonable plan.

Except that the nice day turned into drizzle, and while we were in the Portrait Gallery having lunch (then I left them to go round it) it turned into heavy rain. And stayed that way.

By the time I got back, wee Archie was as drookit as he was in yesterday’s photo. He was not sheltering in his crate, he was sitting in the rain on the doorstep. OMG! He cried and cried when I let him in. I just kept saying sorry to him as I rubbed him dry in a towel.

But after a very vigorous game of fetch and tug-of-war he seemed to have forgotten all about my bad parenting. Though I think there is definitely a look of 'How could you?' in those eyes.

But there may be an ‘accident’ later this evening to pay me back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.