apulseintheeternalmind

By AnthonyBailey

Rhesus

…The Electrician's Shop, Trinity Buoy Wharf, Canning Town

A play set in the Trojan War. It was curious. I can’t say that I enjoyed it nor that I did not enjoy it. Here's the official website .

This was my third visit to Trinity Buoy Wharf in 16 months. Something keeps drawing me back to the somewhat odd ‘site-specific’ theatrical performances in this unique corner of London, with its views across the river to the Dome and up to the cable car.

The wharf is a beautiful postindustrial mess. Long may it remain so. The redevelopment of Canary Wharf started in the 1980s, transforming it from a rundown dock area to a swish place for offices, shops and flats. Yet, thirty years on, there are still wastelands not far from its beating heart itching to be developed. This makes me hopeful that it may be another 100 years before high-rise glass and steel structures start to encroach on Trinity Buoy Wharf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.