My days ...My life

By ElspethAnne

The Monach Islands and St Kilda

For several years we have had the privilege of living here with this amazing view out towards St Kilda.
On a clear day it's easy to see with the naked eye. On the left, is the beautiful white sandy beach we love so much.

It is a very special place . The wild flowers on the machair are so beautiful and there is a soft evocative scent .

I was reminded of this poem by R.S.Thomas .

The Bright Field.

I have seen the sun break through
to illuminate a small field
for a while, and gone my way
and forgotten it. But that was the
pearl of great price, the one field that had
treasure in it. I realise now
that I must give all that I have
to possess it. Life is not hurrying

on to a receding future, nor hankering after
an imagined past. It is the turning
aside like Moses to the miracle
of the lit bush, to a brightness
that seemed as transitory as your youth
once, but is the eternity that awaits you.

R.S.Thomas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.