A Damp Squib

I was awake at the crack of sparrow fart this morning, so I went for an earlier swim than usual. I then headed down to the Quays...yet again! When I was there with Kath yesterday I picked up a Festival Highlights programme and there were a few interesting things listed for today. I met Chrissie there and we decided to have a bit of lunch first. We then went to listen to the Performance Poetry session, Kate from the writing group was reading some of her work and I said I would go along and support her.

There were five poets and they were all good, except for the last one who I really didn't like, she read out her fancy dancy arty farty poems in a droney voice. We were 'all poemed' out by then so we slipped away and went into the square. There was a man trying to teach some children how to flick fans about which we watched for a bit then decided we needed a drink, so we bought one and sat on a deckchair on the grass.

We watched the world go by and chatted until the rain came down and we scooted under one of the huge umbrellas and carried on chit chatting. The programme had bigged up the festival finale...with music, dancing, confetti, fireworks and flags. It was on 5-5.30pm and we headed over to the square only to see that it had already started....fifteen minutes early! It was pathetic and a real damp squib...or as I stupidly said...a damp squid. They stood and waved a few flags up and down, they let off some pathetic little fireworks and there was a bit of confetti, but it was not much more than a party popper. We missed the three girls writhing about in paint powder but I took their pics as they finished. It was all over in ten minutes...very disappointing.

The entertainment might have been poor, but the company was great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.