Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Commencement 2013/2014

Commencement celebration is always a grand event. This year, however, I just did not feel like attending. I did attend, though, because we get docked an entire day if we are absent and the whole event is only about 3 hours, which includes the faculty reception that happens prior to the processional onto the soccer field.

The moment I hear the music as the faculty enters the stadium, the goosebumps appear and all over again I am reminded of the importance of this occasion.

This collage of photos includes several of my student Chase. He failed my class one semester and then did something that I never recommend -- he took my class again. In the period of those two semesters I watched a young immature kid grow into a man who has a goal. His attitude and behavior changed for the better in significant ways. I was privileged to watch this transformation. I sent Chase these photos by email and his response was more than appreciative.

So tomorrow morning we leave for the Central Coast. Summer has finally knocked on my door, so I flung open the door and hollered, "Don't come; I'm coming out!"

I am thrilled. June, July, and August -- those are three of the many reasons I teach.

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.