Keith B

By keibr

A bit too much sun...

...but the boat now has a mast, the mainsail is in place, most of the floor is there, in fact it's pretty much ready to sail away.
When I got there today the boat was fairly dry which was nice. I then spent around 7 hours getting things set up. First the mast in place, then the stays, and then all the bits and pieces.
I didn't worry about being out in the sun the whole time because I get on well in the sun, but today this was a mistake. There was a cool breeze the whole time but this sometimes disguises just how much sun one is absorbing. Now (10:30 in the evening) I feel like I'm radiating heat from my core and feel slightly strange in the head, though the earlier headache has gone. I've drunk lots of water and one very cold beer, had a cool shower and something to eat.
I'm not burnt at all, just soaked up too much heat and probably didn't drink enough. A reminder that water reflects sun and long sleeves and trousers are a good idea even on warm days!
We live and learn, or in my case, we live and remember, just too late!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.