Return to the North

By Viking

Obsession

Many years ago, nearly 20 years in fact, I was looking for a book to read. The school u was teaching at had a public library on the ground floor and every Friday after school I would go down and pick my books for the weekend.
On this particular Friday I was struggling to find a book that grabbed my interest. At one point I picked out one called 'Cross stitch'. It had caught my eye because I had in years gone by done a bit of cross stitch myself. I read the summary on the back, decided its theme of time travel was not my thing and pit it back in the shelf. Date however had other ideas and after browsing the shelves again I picked the book up and decided to give it a go.

I started reading it on the Friday night and it was ok, so much so I carried in Saturday morning and all through Saturday until finally at 5am on Sunday morning I read the last page and went to sleep. I was in fact riveted by it. I laughed, I gasped, I cried, regularly in fact.

On the Monday I returned the book to the library and the librarian asked me if I had enjoyed that particular book. When I told her I had been totally gripped by it she chuckled and said yep, that's what most people had said. She then lit up my world by telling me there was a second book in the series if I was interested.
And so was born my obsession with Jamie and Claire Fraser, of Lallybroch, of Jacobite history (OK I admit that obsession pre existed, me being of Scots parentage)
This is the latest (8th) in the series which came out last week. I spent most of the weekend reading it although being older and wiser now I did go to bed at a reasonably sensible time!
I am sure like all DG fans I do not want the story to end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.