World Cup?

My late afternoon discovery walk took me into a residential area of Muscat. A well-to-do residential area if the models of cars and the maids sweeping the leaves from the drives leading up to the ornate gates are anything to by.

In the middle of this area was a football pitch where there was a game going on. A real game with nets in the goals and a referee. Given that the temparature earlier in the day was 103deg and it hadn't become much cooler, I was astonished at the pace of the game and the passion being shown. These types of pitches seem quite common.

The Oman national football team has never made it to the World Cup finals. But it is only a matter of time.

I liked the way the dust was raised with any significant action - it seetled down quite quickly but I liked the idea of ghosts of previous action lingering while play had moved somewhere else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.