...wORds bE fEW

By tnahlyn

Excitement...

There was a smoky smell in the building. A co-worker gave the news, "we are evacuating, NOW." There had been an equipment malfunction. Then a familiar sound over the intercom system told us to evacuate the building immediately for precautionary reasons. This was NOT A DRILL! Dutifully springing to my feet I grabbed my camera, purse and post-it notes. I had been a 6th floor 'sweeper' for our fire drills and I made sure everyone was out of the offices and I closed the door and placed a yellow sticky on the door to show that the office was checked or swept and no one was left behind.

We headed toward the metal stairs. It is always an ominous sound when there are so many people, from so many floors making their way down those stairs, but since this wasn't a drill, I noticed there wasn't much chatter, and the pace was much quicker. An idea of the look of the building, ours is on the right!

I met my team in our designated meeting spot. All present and accounted for! With camera in hand, my boss told me I could go take some pictures. (He is a great boss). I immediately handed my co-worker my purse, I tied my shoe and ran to where the action was (or wasn't in this case). But I felt like a little kid or Jimmy Olsen, Photographer for the Daily Planet.

Four trucks, a hook and ladder and 2 paramedic ambulances arriving with sirens blaring. Firefighters, putting on their air tanks and swiftly going into the the 13 story high rise, not truly knowing what they may encounter. Not that this is the same, a very different case, but it made me think of 911. The Twin Towers in New York, the firefights that put on their air tanks and swiftly ran into the Tower, not truly knowing what they may encounter.

Today was only a belt on one of the compressors that made quite a stink in a high rise in San Diego. But these men and women were ready to risk their lives potentially and they do it everyday for us.

THEY ARE MY HEROES!!!

Mallary, tell your husband THANK YOU! And to all that risk their lives to serve; firefighters, law enforcement, and the military, you are under appreciated, and you deserve a BIG THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.