Above Kilnsey

It's been a bit of a weird day where my lack of energy from yesterday carried over into today, not helped by a bad night's sleep. Loads of things that I needed to do. Quite a few things that I wanted to do. I've chalked off very few of the former but at least managed a couple of the latter: namely a run on the moor and a cycle out into the Dales.

I was out running and cycling longer than intended, mostly because I kept feeling inclined to stop and pause and soak up the sun, for when it occasionally came out it was beautifully warm. I do love to feel the heat of the sun on my skin. I must have sat up at this spot above Kilnsey, at the beginning of Mastiles Lane, for almost an hour waiting for the right combination of light and clouds. It wasn't a hardship!

By the time I'd got the shot I was after quite a bit of heavy cloud had built up and it looked very like there might be some sharp showers on the way - something I was entirely unprepared for in terms of clothing. I changed my mindset from one of bimbling to one of racing and sped home. It wasn't long before I became energised by the speed of the ride and began to feel stronger and stronger. Something quite remarkable happened over those 20 miles. I became one with the bike again. I'd pretty much forgotten about that experience, the feeling that the bike is an extension of your body. It's a sure sign that I'm beginning to reap the reward of all the recent training. It's felt like a long time coming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.