Igor

By Igor

The Lone Drangea

Struggling to make itself visible at the back of the border is this lone Hydrangea head. It’s unusual because it has deep black stems and when they eventually make up their mind to flower, pure white mop heads.

I’ve seen a few flowers in mono recently so thought I’d give it a go. This is done in Nik Silver Efx which has a range of colour filters for black and white - red, orange, yellow, green and blue - just like the old film days. Not only that - you can adjust the strength of each filter.

This really is the wonder of digital; it’s always playtime. Plus a bit of education thrown in for good measure. I used to know all the stuff about colour filters but had forgotten most of it. Then hey presto - it’s on the screen, all before my very eyes - red for those Ansel Adams’ big dark skies and green for giving foliage a bit of a lift.

I just played around until I found something I liked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.