Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie has a history lesson

Today we went on the bus - and it was I who felt motion sickness, not Archie. I kept bending down to pat him and stop him chewing the lead, and with the bus rattling around like it was going to fall apart, as always, this proved to be a bad idea.

We got off near Greyfriar’s Church, where Archie proceeded to bark (a high pitched yap) at everyone for no reason. I wanted to show Archie take a photo of Archie at the famous Bobby’s grave. He wasn’t the slightest bit interested (he’s only pretending to read it here) but he did help himself to a stick that had been left for Bobby. I have cloned out the lead/rope which was wound around the gravestone to keep him there.

An American tourist came and took photos of him too. She was missing her dog at home, but was having a great holiday.

Then she asked, ‘Is there a possum trap near here?’

I was about to explain that we had no possums in Scotland, then I realised she’d asked, ‘Is there a fossil shop near here?’ Yes there is, and I directed her to it.

We walked back across the Meadows, with Archie charging around and the swallows circling us, inches from the ground but unseen by him. I think those eyebrows are like blinkers and he sometimes doesn’t see things, which is often a good thing.

He must have eaten about 10 fag ends. I hope he doesn’t develop a habit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.