Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The weather app gets it right!

Last night was very exciting - we met freespiral, Himself, and sons #1 & #2 (can't do links on my iPad). Freespiral's brother had been invited by the Edinburgh International Film Festival to present a retrospective of his animation work to celebrate his upcoming 60th birthday. I loved the music while we waited, discovered who it was (the Penguin Cafe Orchestra) and downloaded a couple of albums this evening. Bonus!

Today we had a visitor for lunch, and we had fun comparing our different Rhine Cruises. Ours was a lot more expensive, but our drinks were included... I don't think we drank £500 worth of prosecco, though we did try! She was very impressed with how well behaved Archie was.

We had arranged last week that the family should come up Blackford Hill tonight with Archie - they have never been up there and it's worth it for the views, let alone the doggie walk. But the weather was dodgy all day - dreich, then sunny, then dark ominous clouds... emails and texts were flying back and forth, with the decision changing every five minutes. In the end, we decided to do it another day. I took Archie up the hill later, and the sun came out about 7pm, as predicted by the BBC Weather app!

It was windy, but warm. I didn't have my hat on, and when I was putting Archie back in the boot, I caught sight of a vision in the back window - someone with a mop of hair sticking up like a scarecrow! It was me!! My hair has never done this before. I must check up the side effects of my pills to see if a 'Ken Dodd' hair effect is mentioned...

This is Archie, waiting to be told he can get out and run up Blackford Hill. All a-quiver with excitement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.