Coco's gift

I was ready for the Mah-jong group to come and play this afternoon. I had vacuumed and dusted, arranged two card tables and eight chairs, and the door was open letting in the fresh summer air. Unfortunately it also let in Coco, carrying a mouse! She must have found a nest because recently she has brought in one or two every day, sometimes dead but often alive. She lets them go and, my goodness, how they run! No such problem with today's, luckily, and there were no more episodes after the eight ladies arrived. Coco greeted them sweetly, as if butter (or mice) wouldn't melt in her mouth. She loves the attention when we have visitors.
This Mah-jong group are beginners but some of them are getting quite good. Others approach every month as if they have never played before which makes it quite hard work! I prefer my regular evening group. I taught them about fifteen years ago, so they all know what they are doing by now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.