kevinG

By kevinG

Staycation

Woke up at 12:45 and looked for Mom. My mom is the president of the IDS (Interior Design Society of Long Island) and was in the backyard with Daryl, her VP, and Millie.

Took my morning antibiotic.

We then went to a Japanese buffet restaurant called Minado. It was phenomenal. They had the freshest sushi and sashimi. The cake was also fantastic.

After that my mom wanted to check out a soup place she'd heard about in the same shopping center. While walking there we passed an intriguing spice shop and went in (pictured).

The smell was amazing. They had scent jars next to all of the spices that you could open and smell. They also had great recipes all over. Mom and I bought hot chocolate mix and goddess spice to make salad dressing. We also bought one for Aunt Geri. They kindly threw in a complementary spice (cumin?). I signed up for their newsletter.

We walked to the soup place and I really want to go now. "It's like a souped-up Panera," said my mom. I just now realize the unintentional pun.

On the way back home we stopped at a cool looking bike place. I found a bike I really liked so we wrote it down to do some research.

When I got home I tried to call Aunt Geri, my dad's sister, and her fraternal twin daughters, my cousins, Annie and Sarah to come over and swim in the pool but none of them answered so I left them all a text.

Chilled at home for a bit until Catherine came home and declared that she just bought a bike. She'd been talking about buying this bike for a while now so it wasn't really a surprise.

Mom, Catherine, and I then went to Brands to pick up her bike with my mom's car. While there I found the same bike as before and decided to buy it for my birthday.

Catherine ordered pizza so that's what we had for dinner. By we I mean Catherine, Mom, and me. I didn't see Lauren all day.

I had some hot chocolate from the spice shop.

Mom and I rode to see 22 Jump Street. On the way I saw that Aunt Geri had texted me. We called her in the car and talked to her for a few minutes. Annie and Sarah are at sleep-away canp for the rest of the summer without their phones so that's why they didn't answer. Aunt Geri descibed our day as a "staycation," hence the title.

Then we arrived at Broadway Mall. I love the theater there because they have cushioned recliner seats. Sadly, they were sold out so we went to Loews instead.

The movie was so funny! I think I appreciated some of the humor more than my mom, though.

Came home and read a lot of Poorly Drawn Lines, one of the best webcomics ever.

Today's Random Thoughts:

I feel like we need another word for what you do with comics. I don't really feel like "read" is an accurate description of the process because you don't just read them, you also examine the art.

The easiest thing to do to solve this dilemma would be to use comic as a verb. For example, "I love to comic the 'Peanuts' everyday in the morning newspaper."

A little awkward but it could catch on.

Or I could just stop being so darn picky.

One of those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.