kevinG

By kevinG

Blueberry Kuchen

Woke up to go to the Boyscout BBQ at Wantagh Park but my mom and I were both really tired so we decided against it.

We then went to Smashburger fir brunch and I ate a burger while my mom ate some of the fries.

From there we went to Brands to pick up my bike. A very nice man explained everything about the bike. He was very thorough and easy to understand so I appreciated that a lot.

Aunt Geri came over right when we got home and we all sat at the kitchen table talking for a while. We made our own salad dressing using the goddess herbs we got yesterday and mayonnaise.

Then I decided to make a recipe from the newsletter mom picked up from Penseys (the spice shop) yesterday called "Blueberry Kuchen," hence the name. By the way, kuchen is just the German word for cake.

We didn't have all the ingredients so Aunt Geri and I biked to Iavarone to buy blueberries, whole milk, and just some strawberries for around the house.

When we got back, we prepared the cake and put it in the oven. Aunt Geri taught me a few tricks about baking and I definitely want to try more recipes soon.

While it was baking, Mom cooked some ravioli from Iavarone and her meatballs and sauce. It was a delicious meal and Catherine ate with us.

We sat outside while the kuchen cooked. When it was finally finished (pictured) we let it cool then dug in. It was stellar.

Aunt Geri and I then went to Park because she hadn't seen my dad's house in a while. I gave him some cake and we took her on a brief tour of the progress. We sat outside for a little while until Aunt Geri drove me back to Old Mill and left.

Lazed around for a bit and now I'm going to bed.

Peace.

Today's Random Anecdote:

On a first grade spelling test Ms. Hoffner once said "a lot" and we had to spell it. I wrote down "alot," got it wrong, and was so mad because it was two words and not one.

I may have been mad but I'll tell you one thing:

I never messed that one up again... which is more than some highschoolers can say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.