Conquered

Well I'm pleased to say, I did it. 3 and a half months ago my ankle and feet problems first presented themselves and it's been quite a bit longer since I've had any kind of running mojo. The last 6 months have been quite challenging for me, running-wise.

Many of you have been through it all with me - and you'll know I always had today in my sight as a goal. I've wanted to do the Hadrian's Wall Half Marathon for about a year now - and even as close as 2 weeks ago, I didn't think I'd be able to make it.

But make it I did. I ran today in 2.24.40. Not a great time by many standards, but as it's only 17 minutes slower than my flat road PB, I'm happy with that. Especially considering the post-injury lack of fitness, feet niggles and it being one of the toughest races I've ever done (very hilly multi-terrain).

It is a tough race, but it was also a brilliant race - I can honestly say I had fun. It's definitely one I'll do again, I might do some more hill training next time though!!

Thank you to everyone for putting up with my grumbles, and of course to my dedicated race crew - Mam, Ian and Misty!

I might just be back in the game again :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.