Views of my world

By rosamund

Sunny

Today was surprisingly sunny, after yesterday's rain I wasn't expecting wall to wall sunshine but that's what we got. Started the day with a long lie, some spinning whilst watching Glastonbury then went to Ardardan with Carlos, sadly we were too late for the vintage tractor show that I wanted to see but a delicious lunch in the sunshine made up for it. I had hoped to blip a tractor but they were all leaving as we arrived.

Back home we enjoyed a tasty dinner from the Ardardan farm shop, Carlos had chosen venison burgers, which he said were delicious. Our local deer were none too impressed and one of them stared me down twice this evening taking me quite by surprise, first he appeared from the bushes in front of our house, they usually only do that at dusk or dawn but this was 5.30pm in broad sunny daylight, later when I went out to bring in the washing there he was again in the back garden.

The rest of the evening was uneventful until I tried to pick up Freya in Greenock, she was getting the train home after a long day out swimming and the movies, her phone had died and she was waiting for the train. I soon realised that there was only one an hour and the next one wasn't for 40 minutes so I went to pick her up, I freaked out though when she wasn't at the station I thought she was at. Five minutes later I found her at the next station and by this time she too was pretty freaked out knowing I wouldn't be happy with her sitting alone at a train station late at night with no phone. However she followed the "first rule of situations where you can't communicate with your parents" and stayed put, knowing that if I wanted to find her it wouldn't take me long. Not sure if she was more scared of the dark station platform or my potential reaction, she was expecting lots of screaming and shouting but relief took over and it was just big hugs all round. Although it wasn't the best situation to be in I was proud of her when she told me she had risk-assessed the situation and had ruled out walking home or other solutions. All safe and sound now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.