CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Nasturtiums - good enough to eat?

A lovely sunny afternoon until later when it rained. I was in Perth helping out on Children's Hearings there. Now that the system is national we can serve in any area. A long afternoon but decisions made which we felt were in the children's best interests.

My wife Eleanor has been training these Nasturtiums to grow up the column at our front door. They are beginning to look very attractive. She has been telling me that you can eat them - flowers and leaves! I checked on the the internet and came up with one guy's description:

As a long-time wild-foods enthusiast, I've collected edible plants in all sorts of unlikely spots. But, I'd never harvested food from a flower garden until a family friend introduced me to the attractive yellow orange blossoms and round leaves of the common nasturtium (Tropaeolum majus). After being assured (and reassured) that the plant was both edible and tasty, I chomped down on a long, succulent stem. The flavor was initially sweet, but as I continued to chew, it became hot and peppery like a radish. "Wow!" I thought, my eyes watering and my sinuses opened wide. "That's good!"

Hmmm - well, I shall leave it (pun intended) for a while. Anyone else been brave enough to try?

Going off to watch a recording of Andy Murray hopefully playing well at Wimbledon. Shhhh - don't tell me the result.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.