A Rose with No Name

Twenty years ago I planted a rambling rose in a garden border, a vigorous one! It romped over everything else and in full flower was a magnificent spectacle .... but the whole border became a tangle of fiercely spiny growth. A white flowered plant derived from the usually pink Rosa rubrifolia, it collapsed across the lawn one summer, a victim of it's own vigour having become top heavy. Time to go I thought and set to with my loppers.

I did keep a seedling that had appeared as it had promising pink flushed flowers and many years on, now planted out further along the same border, it is repaying my faith by producing huge sprays of these delicious apple blossom pink flowers. Fortunately it's not proved as aggressive as it's parent - yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.