Love thy neighbour

So the drive is done, but neither Mr A or I am happy about a wall the guy has left to the left of the house.
Fair enough, it provides retention for our neighbours garden, but so did the one on the right side and he removed that one!

Mr A has taken matters into his own hands and has removed the wall (see blip) and replaced it with edging stone like we have on the other side of the drive.

As we were planning all this, the guy from #1 came down (this is the obsessive lawn cutting guy, who hasn't spoken more than 2 words to me in the 7 years I've lived there) to compliment the new drive.
He even went so far as to say he was jealous!

He spent a good 15 minutes chatting away to us like we were old friends; it was nice but completely out of character!

The lady who lives at number 4 (next door) is also pleased with what's been done, she now has a clear view of the close and the lady at number 2 (next door other side) has asked her husband to cut some of their taller plants back so she can see our new garden!!!

We have planted the plants today, so just need to put the weed fabric & gravel down then it will be blip time done!


Job update They are still insisting I have another blood test and until I do, I can't start work.
They very helpfully suggested a place in Manchester who will do it for a small fee! My response isn't printable :-0

My GP was astounded today when I spoke to her; the blood test I've had already is one that they do for all health care professionals to prove Hep B status; they've never known anyone be asked to prove that they are Hep B negative. Even my friend who works for the same company (she put me forward for the job) only had the same test as me!! (But did say a similar jobsworth had been a pain with her CRB check).

My GP said if they are so particular about the risk of blood borne viruses, surely they should test me for Hep A and HIV too! She also questioned the legality of asking for such a test as a condition of employment.

So it's off to the doctors again just as soon as I can get an appointment and hopefully I can start work in a couple of weeks time (jobsworth permitting).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.