Rainy Day in Oregon

By jerispics

Western Flycatcher

On my bedroom window sill! Big surprise this morning when the cat jumped up on the dresser, switched his tail and peered out the window.
I had two shoeboxes sitting there and I couldn't see them. But the cat figured it out. Probably when he saw mama bird fly in to feed them. So this photo isn't very clear because of the glare and the dirty window. (That's a repeat theme around here, you've all heard it before). Another photo of them here where you can see
mom/dad better. There are four babies.

A few facts about the Western Flycatcher:
5.5 - 6 inches. They like moist, shaded coniferous forests (that's where I live).
3-4 white eggs spotted with brown, in a moss-lined cup nest, built against a tree trunk where the bark has split, among the roots of a wind-felled tree, in a bank, or under the eaves of a forest cabin. Or in our case a window sill.
I think they are about to fly. I could have been watching them since they were eggs, but I didn't know they were there. Bummer. Well I'll see them for a few more days.

Pigeon brought his mate with him today. I need a bigger bird feeder!

Maxine says: It's not the heat. It's the boneheads who keep saying it's not the heat. Jeri says: It's not dry heat if you're sweating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.