Glastonbury/ Day 1

OK, so it was actually our third day here but it was the first day of the festival proper. We were up reasonably early on a tip off that Coldplay would be launching the festival from the Other Stage and, whilst neither of us is a big Coldplay fan, we thought it would be a shame to miss this surprise performance.

Except it wasn't Coldplay, it was the Kaiser Chiefs. Now, as it happens, I'm not a big Kaiser Chiefs fan, either, but live they were absolutely brilliant. Their front man gave what was, in many respects, the most charismatic performance I've ever seen, exuding enthusiasm and energy. It made me think of the many reports I read of U2's early performances.

After that, we saw Blondie, whom we had planned to see and who certainly lived up to their live reputation, assisted in no small part by Clem Burke's excellent drumming. In fact, after an evening of electronic drums, yesterday, I was reminded how much I love live drums when I'm seeing a band. Debbie Harry was in good voice if not particularly energetic and we were taken by the people signing at the side of the stage.

I can't remember who was on the Other Stage next but we wandered off and ended up on the Pyramid stage where, unbelievably, Rodrigo y Gabriela were playing, their fourth year at Glastonbury, apparently. I was introduced to their music by a colleague at work but, by God, it is absolutely incredible live.

After this, stopping off to watch Billy Bragg en route, we went across to West Holts to see Deltron 3030, whom the Minx particularly wanted to see. I wasn't that fussed but I was happy enough to sit on the grass and have a pint of cider, flavoured with strawberry syrup. Except that I was taken by Deltron 3030 right from the start: tremendous band with great songs and I loved watching the Minx dancing up the front. I'd definitely see them again.

The only band we had planned for this evening was Elbow, whom I've long fancied seeing live but always been put off by the size of venue that they play. However, there was something different about seeing them at Glastonbury, as if, somehow, it doesn't count as a large venue. And it was all pretty good, actually. Guy Garvey was in good voice and the band played very well but, blimey, a lot of their songs are cut from the same cloth and ease along gracefully at the same tempo.

We started to head back up to the tipi after that although we stopped to watch some of Skrillex from a distance, which was an impressive spectacle and quite a sonic assault but not something I think I'd listen to at home. And then the Minx suggested that rather than crashing out, we pop down to the cabaret tent, so we did. The first act was pretty weak and I napped for a while before waking up to see Mark Steele - not quite as good as I'd hoped but it was one in the morning - and then Doc Brown, who didn't do anything particularly new but who was still very entertaining.

And *then* it was time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.