Glastonbury/ Day 2

I'm not sure if it was the busy day and late night, yesterday, but we had a wonderfully lazy day, today. We knew there were three bands we wanted to see - Goldfrapp, John Grant and Mogwai - but the first of those wasn't on until eight o'clock and, as the rain came down in intense, sporadic bursts during the day, the easiest and most enjoyable thing to do was to simply stay in the tipi.

Of course, we left occasionally, not least to make use of the splendid hot showers on the tipi field and to pick up some sustenance from the 'Wild Coyote Café'. Apart from that, we read our books, drank some wine and occasionally raised the prospect of leaving the tipi just to make our inertia all the more enjoyable.

Around half-seven we did finally get up to join the festival. Yesterday, the Minx had fashioned an ingenious contraption from a lightweight rucksack that The Guardian was giving away and the inside bag from a wine-box. We replenished the wine, I popped on the rucksack and we headed down into Worthy Farm.

Our first stop was at West Holts where Goldfrapp was playing. We've seen her already, this year, playing at the Lowry, and this was a cutdown version of that set. Alison Goldfrapp herself is at the other end of the spectrum from the lead singer of the Kaiser Chiefs and although she performed brilliantly, her interaction with the audience was fairly limited. The Minx took herself off early to go and see John Grant but I didn't want to miss the last few songs, which included 'Ride a white horse' and - my live favorite - 'Strict machine', both hugely enhanced by some stupendous drumming.

After that, I followed in the Minx's footsteps up to the Park stage, where I caught the second half of John Grant's set. We're off to see him playing with an orchestra in Liverpool towards the end of the year, which I'm really looking forward to, but for now we enjoyed what seemed to me to be a fairly faithful reproduction of the album tracks. And, actually, I do wonder whether his music is better suited to a concert hall than an outdoor gig.

Anyway, while the roadies switched everything around, we made our way up to a premium position in front of the sound desk and poured ourselves some wine from the Minx's Ingenious Design. And, when they came on, Mogwai provided the perfect end to the evening. If long, instrumental pieces aren't your thing, then this might not have suited you but I found I was in just the right place for it: I'd had a relaxing day and I'd already seen a couple of bands, plus I'd had a few glasses of wine, so I was able to simply lose myself in the music. Wonderful. (And only a short walk from the Park stage to the tipi!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.