DevonDumpling

By DevonDumpling

'Village Church'

Another glorious sunny day. This morning I met my friend and fellow blipper Juniperberry at the Marina...we sat outside under a parasol having a coffee and catching up.
After lunch Pete took me to Barcombe, a fishing spot that he knows well. We stopped in the village of Ringmer, a few miles north of Lewes and just a mile from the opera house at Glyndebourne. We had a look around this ancient church which is built of flint and stone walls.....Church of St Mary the Virgin.

Although there has been a church of some sort here since Saxon times, the present building dates from the early 13th century. The lovely wooden porch was built sometime in the 1400s. I loved the little chapel set out with small stools.....I would imagine for Sunday school.

We then drove on to Barcombe and had a walk by the river. Quite a few people sunbathing and enjoying the lovely weather. I didn't really find anything beautiful to photograph...it was very overgrown. I prefer the seashore or the Downs!

Tonight I watched the Veterans Mens doubles match at Wimbledon with Peter McNamara and Paul McNamee versus Henri Leconte and Mansour Bahrami. So entertaining and hilariously funny.....even having a glass of champagne on court to celebrate Lecontes birthday. Looking forward to the finals over the weekend!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.