In the cemetery

Yesterday when I was walking the dogs late in the afternoon with Mr U&L at Red River I was amazed by the amount of umbeliferas growing on the flood plain. I wonder if this has anything to do with the fact it was flooded last winter.
Anyway, I went back today to photograph the flies that nectar on them and....not a fly in sight!! so that was that blip plan ruined!
In the end I went for an evening stroll to the local cemetery, which is looking wonderful, with area left to the grasses and wild flowers, all of which are putting on a stunning show this year (maybe also due to the flooding).
There were wonderful stands of teasels, great willow herb, and Viper's bugloss to name but a few, and this beauty Evening primrose Oenothera spp.
Evening primrose is a beautiful herbaceous plant which is often seen growing on poor soil such as brownfield sites. it gets it's name from the fact that the flowers open in the evening and are pollinated by night flying insects.
I think it is an amazing liquid yellow colour adding a real dash of colour between the old grave stones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.