From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Time for something longer....

I did the usual trundle into McDonalds for my morning cuppa. It was quiet in there and I just took my tea and dawdled straight up to the council house where my door was already yawning open at me. It was my first day back in the office today after last week in Ayr and I was expecting to find a load of junk on my usual desk. Paul had told me a load of stuff had arrived from Lyreco at the end of the previous week and my corner crowd had left all the boxes there to put anyone else off sitting there! We are all really friendly!

As a result of that, I spent the first half hour or so putting small piles of A4 hardback notebooks at various locations around the office to disguise the fact I'd ordered too much stuff. All the cupboards and every spare shelf is full now and we don't need any more until 3015. Oh well... Maybe I should have put them in all the toilets on our floor and people would be able to write their memoirs while errrrm... I think I'll stop there.

I had all the books squirrelled away by the time the next couple of people arrived. It was a busy morning for me with the only respite being when I got this email copied to everyone else in the office World Cup sweepstake:-

Roz
Please accept my deepest condolences,
Kind Regards
The guy who has Germany ;)


I replied copying in the rest of the group:-

Good morning Aiden,
I will get over my grief as since the start of the tournament, I saw that Brazil wasn’t quite the Brazil of old. They were actually playing a bit like England!

I expect there will be a contract out soon on the Brazil manager. I may apply for the job to get my £2 sweepstake payment back.

Good luck! I shall be cheering Germany on Sunday as being an army child, I lived there for years during my early years and have learned many German swear words!


I went to lunch soon after that but wasted all of my time queuing up in Robert Dyas with a bag of bird seed but the tills broke down just as it was my turn. Typical! I went back to the office empty handed and soon left for the hairdresser on my way home. No excitement there.

My feathered friends were quite friendly today.

Go large...

Track? I slept awkwardly on my arm last night and think this song from The Searchers is quite right - Needles and Pins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.