From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Wishful thinking?

After the massacre of Brazil on Tuesday, last night's semi final couldn't be any more different! I watched the first half but by half time, I was bored to tears and watched my recorded River City instead. My Glasgow soap was much better viewing. I switched back afterwards disbelieving that there was still no score! Extra time and penalties ensued but I had to check my World Cup phone app to find out who had actually won as I nodded off. Dearie me..

Today was the most beautiful day weatherwise to be stuck inside over a hot laptop. I glanced out of the kitchen window at 6 o'clock and there was Eddie snuffling about at the foot of the bird feeder. I fed him at 7 o'clock last night! He thinks this is place is a flamin' hotel! I went out and poured some mealworms in front of his nose, topped up the bird bath and then went back inside to begin a day of joy and exhilaration.

Go larger and spikier!

It was a quiet day. A massive strike, the biggest since the coalition government came to power happened today. Loads of Public Sector workers were on strike all over the UK, affecting schools, libraries, museums etc. It made for an uneventful day for Solihull IT anyway.

The radio was quite interesting today, with people either applauding teachers who were out on strike or otherwise ringing up to moan. I switched to Planet Rock when I got fed up with that and then switched back to Radio WM when I got annoyed with the rock station and its constant adverts. By that time on Radio WM, loads of people were ringing up who'd either seen ghosts or reckoned they had sixth sense, being able able to predict the future.

The show host, Caroline, wasn't too thrilled when a lady phoned up to explain how she'd dreamed of her uncle and he died the next day and then a few weeks later, she dreamed about her husband and he died a few weeks later. We were all thinking the same thing - 'Don't dream about me!'
All sorts of stories of miraculous predictions cropped up and then they had a so-called expert on. She said we were all possessed sixth sense to a certain degree and asked how often we had thought 'Oh I knew I shouldn't have eaten at that restaurant!' to illustrate her point. What a load of rubbish!

She also said that if you are constantly thinking about someone you hadn't seen for ages and still miss, they are clearly thinking about you too. Surely just a case of wishful thinking and a waste of time too?

Track? I heard this one by George Harrison today. I hadn't heard it for ages and rather like it - Got My Mind Set On You

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.