Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Flighty

I was up early despite not being on grannie watch. I'd noticed how fearless some of the garden birds had been so I played "hunt the bird food" it goes a little like "hunt the secateurs" that I played on Friday. With the feeders restocked I swapped lenses, took my breakfast on the back step and did my best impression of being a door. The little fledgling Blue Tits where the bravest, the occasional Great Tit flitted past. Then I heard it! The woodpecker I'd seen on the nuts first thing, up in the big old cherry tree. It got brave enough to fly past twice but never stopped on the nuts.

Soon it was time to take Grannie to church. It was a nice wander through the village and lovely to see the changes that have taken place in such a beautiful old building. She is obviously a big part of the community, based on all the people coming to wish her well with the new stage of her life.

Sat with the window open at lunchtime I was finally able to get one shot of the Woodpecker before the sound of the shutter scared it away! Triumph! Not the best shot of the day, but certainly one I won't get often.

After lunch there was 172 3 trips to the tip with the small forest that I had removed from the garden. I kept a few of the thick holly boughs to feed my pyromaniac tendencies next time I visit.

There was then just time for a quick trip to mum's new studio, I can't wait to see it progress.

In the evening we had another of my favourite garden activities, a barbecue.

A quiet night sitting with granny and then home to pack for the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.