Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I test my theory...

Archie and I took a wander down to the Meadows - the hottest, sunniest, bluest-skied day so far. I tested my theory and let the rope/lead go. And yes, as I thought/hoped - he stayed with me, often right by my side. I brought a wee ball down for a bit of fun. Yes, he retrieved it about three times and then decided that it was a silly game…

I lay down on the grass, in the shade, and contemplated life. I live in a lovely city, in a lovely flat, with a lovely partner, I don’t have to go to work any more, and I have the best wee dog in the world (with a few minor adjustments...).

Actually, I didn’t…. Archie LOVES it when you get down to his level - he jumps all over your head and licks your ears and generally makes you get up again quickly.

And he kept barking at passing toddlers. We do seem to have a problem here (any suggestions?) He can spot them from afar and yaps and yaps. So what I thought was quite amusing at first, is now rather embarrassing.

JR has gone through to visit a couple of ex-colleagues in the West. They were two of the very few people in Scottish Education that JR could have a professional conversation with, so it’s a shame they’ve both retired. She’ll be mad at me (my) writing this, but JR was a recognised authority in the teaching of reading in NZ, but has been marginalised and ignored by the Edinburgh establishment because she quietly questioned their methods and attempted to have informed discussions. Nobody could give her answers - they didn’t even understand the questions! Don’t worry - she’s given up now - Edinburgh’s loss. She doesn’t get stressed about it any more, and she's very happy and well respected in what will be her last school.

Oops, sorry - I think that was another soap box...

Archie's snoring as we speak…

Now, I think there might be some ice cream and amaretti peaches left from yesterday’s lunch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.