Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A classic beauty

The sailor returned home today, having enjoyed a week of 'real sailing' in rough seas - not the pootling around along the Mediterranean coastline that I call sailing. At one point he said they got to 16.5 knots (which is really fast under sail) and were riding swells of about 5 metres - 'Don't think you would have enjoyed it' he said to me...how right he was!

On a weekend Surrey is inundated by cyclists - I think many come down from London by train to ride the beautiful Surrey hills, which adds to the already huge number of local cyclists in the area. This morning I was woken up (yet again) by cyclists riding past the house talking at the top of the voices - in the early morning stillness that is very loud! Then when I went out to the shops later I was constantly fighting for road space with inconsiderate cyclists riding four or five abreast on the narrow roads, weaving in and out of cars at traffic lights, and despite not even paying road taxes, they ride like they own the roads. And yet when there is an accident the motorist is always at fault! I am in favour of people getting out on their bikes, but please think about the motorists. I think I need to start a MOTORIST BEWARE campaign...

Enough of a rant - Adam played golf with a friend today, and when I went to fetch them from the golf club, there was a car rally and motor display of these timeless beauties, and I could not avoid taking some photos. A real classic beauty!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.