Saturday: Please Look After This Bear

I have the return journey down to a fine art now.  Up at 0500, out the door by 0530, Paddington by 0600 and Heathrow by 0630.  Then just sit and look vacantly into space until the flight boards.  

I have to say, the taxi driver I had this morning was excellent - he took me a route that was about £8.00 cheaper than any other time I have done that route.  And I have to say in defence of the previous drivers that I do pretty much know the way to Paddington and had never felt that I was being taken an unreasonable route - this guy obviously worked some magic!

This is the wonderful Paddington at his station.  When I was a child, Michael Bond's books were such big favourites of mine - I have no idea how many times I read them!  How can you not love a bear who, when he went to France, prepared his 'Eyetinnery By Padingtun', followed by his special paw print to show it was genuine?  The 'eyetinnery' started as follows:

7 oh clock - Large Breckfast
8 oh clock - Leave home (32 Windsor Gardens)
9 oh clock - Snak
11 oh clock - Elevenses

so I can strongly identify with it.

I am feeling rather pleased with myself at the moment.  We have been without internet all day - I was just trying it for the last time when a lengthy message popped in Croatian.  With my very limited vocabulary I worked out that I needed to enter a bit of information and, hey presto, we have internet!

431

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.