Punakaiki Beach

I have had a lovely day today.

A slow morning with Tarn and Al at The Pines Tavern. Then a trip into Westport to try getting some plumbing parts - neither Mitre 10 nor the local plumbers could help - but they were all fascinated by the part I need! Anyway I've created a temporary fix that'll see me through until I'm in Nelson on Wednesday.

When I left Westport I was headed out to Carters Beach for a cup of tea in the van (my first now that the gas is sorted) but I couldn't bring myself to stop that soon so I kept on to Tauranga Bay and had a cuppa there with an early lunch and a read of my book. Wonderful sitting on my couch, back doors open, watching the rain and the sea and communing with the wekas and bellbirds.

I like this life.

When I could finally make myself move on I heaed south, not really sure where I was going to stop. I had lots of wee halts to admire views, take photos, listen to the bird life and just generally enjoy everything. It waas close to 3 by the time I made it into Punakaiki so this seemed like a sensible place to stop.

I'm the only soul in the entire motor camp. Bliss. I took a walk down the track right beside my site and took this photo, then wandered back to the van and had a wee sleep. On waking I thought I'd best bring myself down to the tavern on the corner to blip - no internet access at the camp.

Now that I've got the van I'm going to have to do some learning about taking decent landscape shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.