Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Summer Sand between Our Toes

We enjoyed a lovely lazy morning and a late breakfast, and then I did a few chores here in the house before I decided to spend some time in the side yard, the yard that really belongs to the couple that we bought this house from.

I wanted to prepare the patch of ground outside my bedroom window to plant some iris. I think it will be fun to add some color. An hour and a half of working in the dirt felt like all day to my body. Good grief!

Then I had a few things I need to send our grandson Emerson, so I prepared that and Mr. Fun & I made a quick trip to the post office before they closed at 4:00.

Then we went two blocks down to the sand just to watch. First we stopped at the convenience store to get a bottle of root beer and one of creme soda.

Then to the sand. And oh what fun! A pod of dolphins were swimming close to the waves. Several people were in kayaks. Someone had built a lovely sandcastle, and lots of sun lovers were on their sandchairs or their blankets or their towels enjoying the ocean.

So I rolled-up my pant's cuffs and walked right out to the foam-edged shoreline and took photos. I have discovered an app for my iPhone that allows we to group together still photos and videos -- it's really cool for posting on Facebook -- so I was taking videos of some of the kids skim boarding on the shore and I got a video of two kayaks coming in to shore. I was having lots of fun.

Finally we headed back to the house. The pups were here in their crates. We didn't tell them that we had been at the beach, but they could see the sand between our toes. After our evening meal, we walked the pups to the beach lookout near our house -- these three pups get so excited when we reach for their leashes. They love walking.

That's our day on California's Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.