middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Pollination

A day of ups and downs for me today. I returned to uni from the break and it was straight back into it. We had a tute where we all went through what we've been working on over the break and then figured out where we had to go next. It was alright but just shone a light on how much I still have to do, who knew a masters would be hard right? It did get me bummed out a bit, mainly because I feel like I've been working fairly hard but yet still need to work harder. As always though persistence is the key, I just need to keep moving stones rather than focus on the whole mountain. On that note, as soon as I got home I fired up the laptop and tried to use as much of that motivation as I could to get a few more things worked out.

Another thing that's been keeping me motivated, namely because I'm enjoying them so much, is my 'A Scene A Day'. This is where I make up some characters, a location, and a conflict and then write a scene from that. None of them need to be related to the other and they're never that long, usually just three to four pages. Like I said it's been really fun and, after slogging it out trying to get the structure and plotting for my screenplay done for the day, help to remind me why I want to do this so much. I even think I may make a website to display them, both for my ego and because feedback is one more way to keep me motivated.

Finally on to today's blip. As I habitually go into uni too early I went over to visit the Alexandra Gardens across the road before class. It's once of my favourite places and it was a beautiful day, a good combination. These flower are but some of many in the gardens but were the ones that caught my eye. Part of the reason for this, and the reason I really like todays blip, is that there were a bunch of bees busily pollinating them. I took plenty of shots where the bees were clearly visible on the flowers doing their thing but as I've done a few bee shots in the past chose this one where you can see the bee out of focus to the left of the flower.

If anyone knows the meaning of persistence, it's bees.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.