Writer's Block

By writersblock

Cake tasting!

So this is where wedding planning gets super fun - today was cake tasting day!

R and I met my parents for breakfast at Humphrey's and then went to two bakeries.

The first place, The Elegant Truffle, was amazing. The owner talked to us for over an hour and seemed really excited about the fact that I want an untraditional wedding cake. I've got my heart set on doing a three tiered bundt cake covered with powdered sugar and/or glaze which will sit on a antique looking cake stand (which I still need to find or make). It will have a very home-baked vintage feel to it. She said to contact her after Valentine's Day (it's her busy season right now) and we'll work together to find the right recipe for each layer (she suggested lemon/blueberry for one layer which sounds AMAZING) as well as for the mini cakes I'd like to serve to each guest.

The second place, The European Cake Gallery, had great cake but the girl behind the counter was totally not a fan of my bundt cake idea. She told me that she didn't think it was wedding worthy and that I really ought to go with the traditional white cake or else I'd regret it later. Why I would regret getting a cake I've never wanted in the first place is totally beyond me but I sum it up to the fact that her bakery doesn't break out of the box very often. The cakes - shown here - were very good (I liked the dark chocolate truffle the best) . . . but since I definitely don't want a flowery icing covered white cake I don't think we'll be going with this place.

So, I think I'm going to go with The Elegant Truffle. I loved chatting and swapping ideas with the owner/baker and she seemed thrilled to try something new. She said she actually refuses to do the traditional wedding cakes because she hates them. LOL. She was opinionated but I liked that! We definitely clicked with our quirky outlooks on wedding cakes . . .and I can't wait to move forward!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.