To See Takes Time

And time is what I have, determined to keep my foot up so my toe can heal as quickly as possible. Here is a quote from a book I'm rereading, An Altar in the World, Barbara Brown Taylor, in the chapter, "The Practice of Paying Attention":

No one has time for this, of course. No one has time to lie on the deck watching stars, or to wonder how one's hand came to be, or to see the soul of a stranger walking by. Small wonder we are short on reverence. The artist Georgia O'Keefe, who became famous for her sensuous paintings of flowers, explained her success by saying, "In a way, nobody sees a flower, really, it is so small, we haven't time - and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time."

M went to the Jericho project and brought me back an arm crutch - so could hobble round the garden - these are the roses I love.

(BTW, for those who liked J with flowers in her hair, I've found the blip that inspired me, but too late to add link to the original.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.